Chapter 2
Introduction to extradition

Elements of New Zealand’s current extradition scheme

2.9As a result of this history, there are several elements to New Zealand’s current extradition arrangements:

19See [3.9]. The extradition treaties to which New Zealand may be bound as a successor state are with Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, the Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Greece, Hungary, India, Iraq, Italy, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Nauru, the Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norfolk Island, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, the Solomon Islands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, and Uruguay: see Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade “Treaties and International Law: Extradition” (24 November 2010) <>.
20See [3.11].
21See [3.7]–[3.8] and Appendix C.
22London Scheme for Extradition within the Commonwealth (incorporating the amendments agreed in Kingstown in November 2002), formerly known as Commonwealth Scheme on the Rendition of Fugitive Offenders, adopted in 1966.
23Fugitive Offenders Act 1881 (Imp) 44 & 45 Vict c 69.